How to Review Code

Yesterday in looking into a reported issue with a report program I discovered that it was a resource hog.  After a cursory review I found that the program used techniques that I will describe here as legacy in order not to use expletives and risk offending.  Before I left work, I sent an email to one of my developers asking for an analysis.  This morning when I arrived, I had a great laugh when his reply to my email started with:

I have reviewed this convoluted piece of crap, and have concluded the following …

After the analysis (which was as dry and specific as one would expect from a seasoned developer), he concluded: 

A good project to pass on to a programmer who has pissed you off, and you want to get even.  Hopefully, I haven’t.

This makes me wish that I could take back the review I delivered last week and improve a mark or two in his favor.
One response

  1. Oh thats a beauty! Worthy of a trip to the happiest place on earth if nothing else just for the laugh!

Leave a Reply

