St. Paddy’s Day Drink

As a good little Closet Housewife, I pick up Martha Stewart’s Living magazine, and recently I have been reading it cover to cover.

In the March issue’s Good Things column, there are several lovely ideas for Easter and St. Patrick’s Day.  However there is one item that caused even my husband (who is not exactly known for turning up his nose when there is a beer-related beverage nearby) to crinkle up his nose and utter the discouraging word, ‘Ew.’

A Stout Float.  Scoop ice cream into a pint glass, and pour in enough stout to fill it.

Gentlemen, I must ask whether this sounds enticing?

8 responses

  1. Nasty!

  2. I guess it depends on the flavour of the ice cream. I am pretty sure this would taste dreadful with mint choc chip ice-cream.
    Might be ok with vanilla ice-cream.
    Only one way to find out

  3. Well I did run across ice cream flavored with Guinness once (superb!) so I’d say that the theory is sound, but as Brit points out, the devil is in the details.

  4. Oh my, stout ice cream sounds positively revolting. I am a little distrustful at the moment of those who might say that something is delicious; this started when Brit first extolled the virtues of Black Pudding.

  5. As an aside … people can like strange things!

    For example, one of my sisters went through a peanut butter and tuna phase.

  6. Hmmmmm, Black Pudding flavoured ice-cream. I think I can see how to make my fortune!

  7. Interesting. I skimmed the article, and I think that the scientists Blumenthal refers to are on target: fat has a taste. It is fortunately a taste I do not like. I imagine it tastes something like Black Pudding (‘all the parts of the pig that are not fit for human consumption’, as desribed by Brit).

Leave a Reply

