Love and all that crazy madness

My husband and I watched a movie this evening, Dan in Real Life.  It was a sweet little love story, saved from being overly vanilla by Steve Carell and Juliette Binoche – I just adore both of them.

I was reacquainted with an old favorite song by Pete Townsend, Let My Love Open the Door.  It’s so lovely, and I feel very happy when I hear it – like I want to get up and dance.  Here are the lyrics.

When people keep repeating

That you’ll never fall in love

When everybody keeps retreating

But you can’t seem to get enough

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

To your heart

When everything feels all over

When everybody seems unkind

I’ll give you a four-leaf clover

Take all the worry out of your mind

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

To your heart I have the only key to your heart

I can stop you falling apart

Try today, you’ll find this way

Come on and give me a chance to say

Let my love open the door

It’s all I’m living for

Release yourself from misery

Only one thing’s gonna set you free

That’s my love

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

To your heart

When tragedy befalls you

Don’t let them bring you down

Love can cure your problem

You’re so lucky I’m around

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

Let my love open the door

To your heart

4 responses

  1. Old Pete had the words, fab song haven’t heard it in ages!

  2. Just downloaded it to my iPod. I made myself a playlist of Happy Songs – the tunes that give me a boost.

    Here are the highlights:
    Wouldn’t It Be Nice (Beach Boys)
    Free Man in Paris (Joni Mitchell)
    Red Rain (Peter Gabriel)
    Do America (Mark Knopfler)
    Walking on the Moon (The Police)
    Road Trippin’ (Red Hot Chili Peppers)
    Mother of Pearl (Roxy Music)
    Gold (Interference)
    Is This Love (Marley)
    Let It All Go (Mark Knopfler)
    Let My Love Open the Door (our friend Pete)
    Brand New Day (Sting)

  3. *bows* you have good taste – mention Mark down here and people go “huh?” Don’t know Interference mind so will be off to do some “ear” research – Hope you don’t mind but I just love Brand New Day and am going to post it 😀

  4. […] Three Wise Birds Today see it like a Brand New Day May 12, 2008 Ilegirl’s post Love and all that crazy madness reminded me of this song, one of my favourites and as she says it is a feel good happy song and so […]

Leave a Reply

