Sad Songs

I happened across @mmonyte’s sad song post.

I, too, like a good sad song.  When I am low, a sad song with some depth really fits the bill.  A person can’t always be happy – odd as it may sound, that is unhealthy.  We are supposed to be unhappy sometimes.  It’s part of the emotional repertoire.  And of course, it means that we are actually human and have the sorts of human needs and longing for engaging with other people that define our sort.

I particularly like Moonlight Mile, though that’s more plain heartache than utter despair.

For angry moments it’s Californication.  Hmm, that actually sounds good about now.

A song for the very strange mood when one rather wishes to be left alone is By This River.

I could not bear to be without Comfortably Numb.

My husband loves the blues, and could name dozens of good classics to suit each hue.

Sad songs, anyone?  Interested in adding to my small collection.

12 responses

  1. Sadly I have a looooong list of which Comfortably Numb is on, Johnny Cash’s hurt and God’s gonna cut you down… the list is long and for some reason I am avoiding it right now 🙂

    While in Europe are you going to venture to the open air blues & jazz festival in Switzerland?

  2. Actually, I don’t think of it as a sad song, just a powerful one

    Comfortably Numb features on my (very long) list of Great Guitar Solos.

    I’ll be at the Maryport Blues Festival in June, featuring Chuck “I thought he was dead” Berry. I pray he doesn’t sing “My Ding-a-ling”

  3. SF – There are times for sad songs and times for the Happy Songs Playlist!

    And, yes we are planning to attend at least one Montreux show while we’re in the ‘hood.

    @mmonyte – I think it’s a sad song.

    My husband and I saw a documentary about Chuck Berry. He seems like a real shit, but a fun fellow all the same. I think I learned more about Keith Richards than Berry, though. Keith is quite a lot more talented than I had previously believed (despite my husband telling me on many occasions that Richards is hands down the best rhythm guitar man alive) – and also quite a lot more intelligent. Looks are deceiving, n’est-ce pas?

  4. amberfireinus | Reply

    Sad song…. Painters by Jewel. Nina Simone is also good for a good cry session…

    I tend to not listen to depressing stuff. When I am sad, I tend to listen to “God Songs” and songs of inspiration to lift me. I don’t wallow in my unhappiness.

  5. Howabout every blues song ever written – it’s a whole genre dedicated to misery! Maybe that’s why I like it so much!

    The winner has to be “Gloomy Sunday” as performed by Billie Holiday, which legend has it, has been banned by many radio stations due to the number of suicides it has caused.

    Sunday is gloomy,
    My hours are slumberless
    Dearest the shadows
    I live with are numberless
    Little white flowers
    Will never awaken you
    Not where the black coaches
    Sorrow has taken you
    Angels have no thoughts
    Of ever returning you
    Wouldnt they be angry
    If I thought of joining you?

    Gloomy sunday

    Gloomy is sunday,
    With shadows I spend it all
    My heart and i
    Have decided to end it all
    Soon therell be candles
    And prayers that are said I know
    But let them not weep
    Let them know that I’m glad to go
    Death is no dream
    For in death I’m caressin’ you
    With the last breath of my soul
    Ill be blessin’ you

    Gloomy sunday

    Dreaming, I was only dreaming
    I wake and I find you asleep
    In the deep of my heart here
    Darling I hope
    That my dream never haunted you
    My heart is tellin’ you
    How much I wanted you
    Gloomy sunday

  6. Wow. That is an amazing song.

  7. Oh and the Nick Cave And The Bad Seed’s track from album “The Murder Ballads” called “Where The Wild Roses Grow” (feat. Kylie Minogue)

  8. I offer you “This is the Day” by “The The”

    Well… you didn’t wake up this morning
    Because you didn’t go to bed
    You were watching the whites of your eyes
    Turn red
    The calendar, on your wall, is ticking the days off
    The calendar on your wall is ticking
    the days off
    You’ve been reading some old letters
    You smile and think how much you’ve changed
    All the money in the world
    Couldn’t bring back those days.
    You pull back the curtains, and the sun burns into your eyes,
    You watch a plane flying across a clear blue sky.
    THIS IS THE DAY — Your life will surely change.
    THIS IS THE DAY — Your life will surely change.
    You could’ve done anything — if you’d wanted
    And all your friends and family think that you’re lucky.
    But the side of you they’ll never see
    Is when you’re left alone with the memories
    That hold your life together like glue

  9. For those who suggested Comfortably Numb, I assume you want the Pink Floyd version. For I an offer a Country and Western version by Luther Wright and the Wrongs, a dance version by the Scissor Sisters, a Bluegrass version, or a Gregorian Chant version.

  10. amberfireinus | Reply

    Ok, as you are all posting the lyrics…. here are the lyrics to my sad song.

    “Painters”

    Eighty years, an old lady now, sitting on the front porch
    Watching the clouds roll by
    They remind her of her lover, how he left her, and of times long ago.
    When she used to color carelessly painted his portrait
    A thousand times-or maybe just his smile-
    And she and her canvas would follow him wherever he would go

    ‘Cause I’m a painter and i want to paint you a lovely world
    A lovely world.

    Oil streaked daisies covered the living room wall
    He put water-colored roses in her hair
    He said, “Love, I love you, I want to give you mountains, the sunshine, the sunset too
    I just want to give you a world as beautiful as you are to me

    ‘Cause they were painters and they were painting themselves
    A lovely world.

    So they sat down and made a drawing of their love, they made it an art to live by
    They painted every, passion every home, created every beautiful child
    in the winter they were weavers of warmth, in summer they were carpenters of love
    They thought blue prints were too sad so they made them yellow

    ‘Cause they were painters and they were painting themselves
    A lovely world.

    Until one day the rain fell as thick as black oil
    And in her heart she knew something was wrong
    She went running through the orchard screaming,
    ‘No God, don’t take him from me!,’
    But buy the time she got there, she feared he already had gone
    She got to where he lay, water-colored roses in his hands for her
    She threw them down screaming, ‘Damn you man, don’t leave me
    with nothing left behind but these cold paintings, these cold portraits to remind me!
    He said, ‘Love I leave, but only a little, try to understand
    I put my soul in this life we created with these four hands
    Love, I leave, but only a little this world holds me still
    My body may die now, but these paintings are real.’
    So many seasons came and many seasons went
    and many times she saw her loves face watering the flowers,
    talking to the trees and singing to his children
    And when the wind blew, she knew he was listening,
    and how he seamed to laugh along, and how he seemed to hold her
    when she was crying

    ‘Cause they were painters and they were painting themselves
    A lovely world.

    Eighty years, an old lady now, sitting on the front porch
    Watching the clouds roll by, they remind her of her lover
    how he left her and of times long ago, when she used to color carelessly,
    Painted his portrait a thousand times, or maybe just his smile,
    and she and her canvas would follow him wherever he would go

    Yes, she and her canvas still follow
    Because they are painters and they are painting themselves
    A lovely world

  11. […] Grass vs Humans Oh what a perfect day June 7, 2008 In light of recent postings of sad song lyrics by Ilegirl I find the need to share a song that I see as happy and always makes me want to […]

  12. […] Well I won’t spoil it for you but I can say it was spooky. Followed by that her post on Sad Songs, […]

Leave a Reply

