My Plea: Temporary Insanity

I am a naturally optimistic person.  As with every character trait, this is a curse as well as a blessing.

In managing people, work and time, I am as vulnerable as most optimistic people to overestimating the capacity of people to share my values, priorities, sense of urgency, and flexibility.  In the Real World, it turns out that people actually have their own needs that don’t correspond with mine!  It turns out that other people actually don’t read my mind, that they have other priorities, and sometimes it is also that they are simply not as interested or committed as I.

It also turns out that the world does not revolve around me and my work.

In working on a project yesterday, this realization dawned unfortunately later than would have been beneficial.

I enter my plea of temporary insanity, topped with a sprinkling of narcissism.

2 responses

  1. OMG… you mean… NO! Let it not be so!!! I think you should whip out your lightsaber Iphone and let em have it!

  2. I can only work with the tools that are in the toolbox. I can’t just run out and buy new tools. I can’t break the ones I have, because they are the only ones available.

    As a consequence, it’s imperative that my expectations remain realistic.

    But the lightsaber thing sounds really tempting. 😉

Leave a Reply

