Encapsulating Joni

I just read Pooja’s post on Both Sides Now, which she reports encapsulates her life philosophy of remaining open minded.

I myself have recently rediscovered Woman of Heart and Mind.  It is what I believe, and it is that to which I aspire.

Joni Mitchell music is deeply personal, often painfully honest, and also beautiful and playful.  I mentioned in my comment to Pooja’s post that Mitchell’s gift is in bridging the gap between self-indulgence and art; to me, this is what makes her music so interesting and enduring.

I wonder, are there other Joni Mitchell lovers out there who have discovered a personal connection to a particular song?

4 responses

  1. there are so many of them ilegirl. a couple that come to mind immediately:

    All I Want from the album ‘Blue’: love the way she mixes the mundane but beautiful acts that one does when in love with the profound. for example the lyrics have the lines:

    “I want to be the one that you want to see
    I want to knit you a sweater
    Want to write you a love letter”

    And it also has the lines:
    “I am on a lonely road and I am traveling
    Traveling, traveling, traveling
    Looking for something, what can it be”

    The other one is the lovely self-reflective ‘The River’ with lines like:
    “I’m so hard to handle
    I’m selfish and I’m sad
    Now I’ve gone and lost the best baby
    That I ever had
    I wish I had a river I could skate away on”

    Then there is ‘The Circle Game’…there are so many of them as I mentioned earlier.

    Cheers!
    m

  2. All good ones, Meraj! The River is excellent for those pensive moods when a bit of indulgence is required.

    Your description of All I Want is perfect.

  3. Delighted to see that my post inspired a post on your delightful blog.
    Thats a very interesting observation about Joni’s lyrics

  4. Pooja, thanks for inspiring me!

Leave a Reply

