Turk Made it Blue

After visiting Montreux last summer, I discovered I loved some jazz.  We saw David Sanborn on my husband’s birthday, a July night after an afternoon of impressive thunder and lightning.  In sultry, mascara-melting weather.  We purchased standing-room-only spots and endured the crush of a crowd, and though I am slightly claustrophobic the experience was thrilling.  We felt alive and though crowded, hips swayed and feet tapped.

On (regretfully) returning to California, I was determined to explore the genre.  As expected, the sheer number of choices was daunting.  After reading some reviews and listening to some snippets I decided to begin with what several people called the best jazz album of all time:  Time Out, by the Dave Brubeck Quartet.

I have not been disappointed.  The emotional intensity, intelligence and energy of each tune is impressive.  And though I assumed I would become dull on Take Five I have, after all, been continually delighted by its symmetry.  However, my favorite is the first tune, Blue Rondo a la Turk, which boasts charming bridges that fall like treasures into my lap as I listen.  It never bores me; it gets better with each listening.

2 responses

  1. you are right…even i got introduced to Jazz some 12 years ago with the same album and i still love ‘Take Five’ (it hasnt dulled at all in the last 12 years).

    ‘Blue Rondo a la Turk’ is Dave Bruebeck’s tribute to Mozart’s ‘Rondo alla Turca’ which is the last movement of Sonata No 11. its a beautiful tribute.

    based on my taste, i shall try and compile a list of other jazz favorites which might appeal to you. let me know of your e-mail id. in the meantime keep enjoying ‘Time Out’…it never times out.

    cheers!
    m

  2. Excellent! Thanks – email is on its way to you.

Leave a Reply

