A Song for Every Occasion

I had one of those days today, during which nearly every overheard phrase inspired a song.

I was not in a particularly sunny mood.  In fact, I headed into the work day having steeled myself with some deep breaths and resolution, slightly annoyed in apprehending a busy schedule of uninspiring tasks.  And I had been up until midnight last night, working.

Yet when our project manager greeted me this morning I was irresistably tempted to sing the opening verse to the morning song from Singing in the Rain:

Good morning, good morning

It’s great to stay up late

Good morning, good morning to you

It didn’t stop there.  During a painfully dull meeting with an ascerbic manager I was inspired to break out into song:

These boots were made for walking,

and that’s just what they’ll do.

One of these days these boots are gonna walk all over you.

It had rained during my lunch hour, but this afternoon as I walked the floor to meet with a developer the sun was illuminating the windows, and the tune was:

Little darling, it’s been a long, cold, lonely winter

Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here

Here comes the sun,

Here comes the sun

and I say, It’s all right

During the afternoon I spent some time brainstorming about causes for a problem we were experiencing in our development environment.  On the short walk downstairs to our testing lab accompanied by a developer and an exec, a full pair of songs suggested themselves, though I mentally jumped to another:

You may ask yourself, how do I work this?

You may ask youself, where is that large automobile?

You may tell yourself, this is not my beautiful house

You may tell yourself, this is not my beautiful wife

I was, in short, terribly annoyed with myself.

But the day wound down well, if only because it wound to a close, and now the song on my lips is:

I want to be strong,  I want to laugh along

I want to belong to the living

Alive, alive, I want to get up and jive

I want to wreck my stockings in some jukebox dive

So, it all ends on a positive note.

3 responses

  1. It’s the end of a perfect day for all the surfer boys and girls
    the sun’s dropping down in the bay and falling off the world
    there’s a diamond in the sky, our evening star in our shangri-la

    1. Wonderful Knopfler tune!

Leave a Reply

