ROI

I had a most peculiar conversation with a manager today. He had requested training for some of his staff, on a particular technology they need to learn. This was certainly reasonable. The price tag, and the fact that 3 team members would be in training offsite during business hours for 4 consecutive days, required explanation.

My request was direct. ‘I need to know the ROI.’

The response was evasive. ‘What do you mean by ROI?’

I was slightly impatient, but continued, ‘What productivity improvement would this course facilitate?’

This resulted in an offended stare.

I went on. ‘I’m planning to take a course which costs less than 10 percent of this one, and I have provided my boss with a clear and quantifiable expectation of return on his investment. I need the same.’

To which the manager replied, ‘So, what I’m hearing is, the answer is no.’

There is something rotten in the state of Denmark.

2 responses

  1. Gosh, I’ve lost track of you…I linked to your other blog which has been quiet lately. Am just reading through catching up. I had to laugh when I read this. I interpreted his reaction as ‘I don’t know how to do this’ or ‘I can’t be bothered to do this’.

  2. Indeed – more the latter I suspect.

Leave a Reply

