In Search of Beauty

I have an ideal: beautiful code. Not just elegantly structured but radiating clarity, purpose, focus.

It’s torture to hold to this ideal, as I have yet to discover it. I’ve never crafted it, though I have come close. I have caught the vaguest glimpses, of the sort causing my heart to beat with excitement but – reading on – only to discover a flaw, terminal disappointment.

Language is the barrier. Writers everywhere would likely nod in agreement: how can words strung together adequately and completely express a thought? The same obstacles loom darkly before the coder, and the code reviewer; particles of logic which yield endless frustration.

Leave a Reply

