Emogeek

Momentarily unwired, as I’m on an airplane, briefly suspended between Oakland and Reno.

The air in here is strangely and simultaneously warm and cold, dry and damp. I was quite late checking in and thus boarded at the latter stage so I sit in a middle seat – though quite comfortably.

I don’t care much for flying in general, but the anonymity of flying alone from generic point to generic point, and with no particular apprehension of enjoyment or entertainment expected once I land, yet has some interesting appeal. I feel a bit like a character in a Sofia Coppola film: isolated, not a particular object of interest to an observer, neither happy nor sad. In emotional stasis.

I had seemingly mere moments to compose this before the descent into Reno’s high dessert terrain, and the message to disengage from one’s electronic devices. How appropriate.

Leave a Reply

