The Shameless Tourist: Taipei, Taiwan

IMG_1711.JPG

Sanrio developed Hello Kitty many years before I was born and I coveted the goods as a child. I eventually outgrew this and instead derive healthy enjoyment from the memories. I am clearly not alone, as the restaurant above suggests. This is mere feet from my hotel, and encountered when I departed on foot for some retail exploration this morning.

IMG_1721.JPG

This shot isn’t good or interesting on its own. However, it is an accurate representation of my Big City Tourism experience this afternoon. Grey and damp; the press of people; the scooters and cars and pedestrians all moving safely under a choreography I studied (so as to not become a casualty) and admire (because this sure looks like a much more pedestrian-friendly city than the nastiness we see in San Francisco), despite initially looking intimidating.

Leave a Reply

