Singapore Botanical Garden

After an indulgent and leisurely breakfast, I spent the afternoon sweating off the Hollandaise sauce exploring the Singapore Botanical Garden.

IMG_1801.JPG

Like many such gardens, this isn’t just one garden but rather a collection of flora and fauna categorized and arranged to provide the studious with a delightfully organized – and often, comprehensive – representation of plant families, while also affording enjoyment to novices such as myself.

The sundial garden reminded me of the manicuring I had noted in French gardens, with a symmetry of beds and pools.

IMG_1810.JPG

The sundial is engraved with a saying that is likely intended to be amusing but which is, in my current state of mind, rather chilling:

What thou seekest is a shadow

I shelled out the $5 SGD to enter the Orchid garden. The admission fee and gift shop proceeds help to fund breeding programs that attract collectors from around the globe; I was quite happy to support the cause and money’s worth was had. Singapore’s exceptionally warm and humid climate is amenable to a grand variety of orchids, and in the specimen section of the Orchid Garden I noted a high proportion of Dendrobium – a personal favorite.

IMG_1835.JPG

While heading toward the enclosure containing the cool-weather orchids (which due to the dampness and the limitations of my current equipment was not amenable to photos), I stopped with a group of younger tourists to find the source of a loud and sustained sustained hum, which was a Cicada no larger than my thumb.

I had packed a compact umbrella in my luggage, but neglected to bring it so was sent scampering to the gift shop when a sudden and intense downpour materialized. The relief afforded by this rain was not sufficient to significantly lower the temperature though the umbrella I purchased provided some shelter from the sun later in my trek. Here I am, thoroughly damp but happy to be surrounded by greenery.

IMG_1833.JPG

Leave a Reply

