ilegirl

because there is always something else


Downtime / Uptime

Like so many in tech, I was recently laid off. I made it to round 5 at my company, so I understand how fortunate I am. On the other hand, it sucks to be looking for a job.

It’s also an opportunity for some introspection because my mind isn’t always flicking back and forth between what to have for dinner tonight and wondering whether I’m prepared for that important meeting with London in the morning.

I’ve long known – but seldom admitted aloud – that I’ve used my busy-ness with work as a barrier, a shield against personal growth. After all, I was soooo busy learning stuff for my terribly demanding job, I didn’t have time for the woo-woo, mystical crap.

I still don’t have time for the mystical crap. Not that I don’t have time but rather, it’s anathema to me.

Recently I started journalling again, starting around my experience with job seeking and meandering past that into some deeper topics. Once I get past what is some rather self-indulgent and angsty personal concerns, I find myself being curious about ideas, and excited to experience some insights. It’s like being a teenager again, but without the sticky social contracts and the acne.

More, later.



Leave a comment

About Me

Music, merriment, moody meanderings. Travel, tillage, tinkering. All things minor, major, and middling – ilegirl arcana. The personal blog of Patti MacArthur Nelson.