ilegirl

because there is always something else


Words in a time of chaos

Wordsworth wrote:

The world is too much with us; late and soon,
Getting and spending, we lay waste our powers;
Little we see in Nature that is ours;
We have given our hearts away, a sordid boon!
This Sea that bares her bosom to the moon,
The winds that will be howling at all hours,
And are up-gathered now like sleeping flowers,
For this, for everything, we are out of tune;
It moves us not. -Great God! I’d rather be
A Pagan suckled in a creed outworn;
So might I, standing on this pleasant lea,
Have glimpses that would make me less forlorn;
Have sight of Proteus rising from the sea;
Or hear old Triton blow his wreathed horn.

I am filled with sorrow to hear of the siege in Mumbai.  Those who perpetrate such misery on others are fools, tricked by clever sorts who wish to assert their power; manipulators who despise life, who are out of tune.

And the weight of the violent night, and the chaotic day that follows, is heavy on my mind.



8 responses to “Words in a time of chaos”

  1. It’s at time like these, that I recall this scene from Apocalypse Now. His solution was brutal. “Drop the Big One and Kill Them All”

  2. That reminds me of my disgust when reading of papal legate Arnaud Amalric’s words when instructing the faithful soldiers waiting to lay seige to the city of Beziers during one of the domestic crusades: Kill them all, God will know his own.

    It’s frustrating to helplessly watch this unfold before our eyes.

  3. and its still going on…repulsive!

  4. but it precisely defines the level of fanaticism that is required to be a terrorist/freedom fighter*

    (*delete as appropriate)

  5. Indeed, @ammonyte. My own visceral response was violent; what does that say about human nature: that at core we are hostile beings?

    Meraj, I hope your family is safe and secure and that this madness ends soon.

  6. thanks, ilegirl…they are all safe but scared. you know something…that area of Mumbai was where i live for the first 2 years of my life in Mumbai. so, its like a home and it feels terrible!

  7. i used this post of your in my latest post without your permission. my apologies!

    1. Meraj, no need to apologize. I am flattered and glad it was of some interest to you!

Leave a comment

About Me

Music, merriment, moody meanderings. Travel, tillage, tinkering. All things minor, major, and middling – ilegirl arcana. The personal blog of Patti MacArthur Nelson.